This is the Best Sports Day of the Year?

Posted: February 6, 2011 by tconaway in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Super Bowl Sunday. A day full of parties, football, drinking, and commercials. Sadly enough, I am only going to be enjoying one of those today. Don’t get me wrong, I love parties, football and drinking, but the commercials are the only part about today that I am actually excited about.

I won’t be going to any parties. I don’t have the funds to drink. And I am just not at all intrigued by the matchup between the Steelers and the Packers. Will I watch the Super Bowl? Of course I will. I am an American and I feel it is my patriotic obligation to watch the biggest game of the year. Does this mean I will enjoy the game? Probably not.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some great story lines within this game:

  1. The emergence of Aaron Rodgers
  2. The Steelers attempting to win their third Super Bowl in six years and seventh overall
  3. Ben Roethlisberger possibly becoming an elite quarterback after his horrendous off season

As intriguing as some of these story lines are, I still just don’t really care. As I am writing this post, I am watching the Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet instead of the pregame shows. I must say, as of right now, the chihuahua is the early favorite for MVP.

It really does pain me to say that I am not excited for the game tonight. Since I am a huge sports fan, you would think I would extra pumped for any Super Bowl. The spark just isn’t there for this one though.6

Perhaps it is that I don’t have a team that I want to root for (both of these teams are irrelevant to me.) Perhaps it is February 6 and I am sick and tired of this Indiana weather so that has put me in a bad mood. Perhaps it is because I have a law exam on Tuesday that I will surely fail. Whatever the reason, I am only watching tonight’s game for the sake of my manhood and the fact that I am a sports fan. Who knows, maybe tonight will be a great game and I will be pleasantly surprised. Even if it is, I still doubt I care enough to talk about tomorrow.

For the sake of this post, I have to offer some predictions.

Score: Pittsburgh-34, Green Bay- 24

Super Bowl MVP- Mike Wallace

Best commercial- Doritos

Puppy Bowl Winner- Chihuahua

Times I fall asleep during the game- 3

Leave a Reply

