Hoosiers women’s Swimming and Diving Team Three-Peat

Posted: February 20, 2011 by yhk2 in IU Non Revenue Sports

It was one of the most dominating Big Ten Championship performances ever. The Indiana Hoosiers women’s Swimming and Diving team won the Big Ten Championship for the third straight year by a dominating margin. The Hoosiers finished with 821 points, following 578 points by Minnesota, Ohio State with 456 points, Penn State with 391 points, and Purdue with 385.5 points. Indiana has now won its fourth Big Ten Championship in the last five years.

Indiana put three swimmers in the championship final of the 100 freestyle and were led by Margaux Farrell who touched the wall third in a career best time of 48.76. Right behind was Brittany Strumbel in fourth and Sara Delay with eighth place. Freshman Laura Ryan won her first Big Ten title in the diving competition and Amy Cozad set some school records. Ryan was the one who won the championship title but Cozad set the second-highest five-dive total in school history and the new Big Ten meet record.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s